Snail's Postcard Post

Mardi Gras!

Thought I’d repost this one, because it’s that time again…

Snail's Postcard Post

Come on everybody take a trip with me
Down the Mississippi, down to New Orleansimg_7631img_7632“I hope this finds you well! My mom and I are in New Orleans! Had to send you a post-card for the Snail collection! Today we went on a city tour and saw the Garden District and the St. Louis Cemetery #3! I Gotta re-write my short story now! This city is so [paper torn] and inspiring. I’ll call you when I get home!”img_7633img_8870Postage stamp commemorating the 150th anniversary of the Battle of New Orleans. Part of the War of 1812, American forces under Major General Andrew Jackson prevented the British Army and Royal Navy from seizing New Orleans and thwarting American westward expansion (among pettier things).

img_7634

2006 oil painting by Joan Griswold of Faulkner House Books.

This fine bookstore is located on the first floor of an 1840 house in the French…

View original post 141 more words

This entry was published on February 9, 2016 at 2:59 pm. It’s filed under Historical, U.S.A. and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

