Snail's Postcard Post

Tommy Ramone Tribute

After a bout with cancer, 65 year-old Tommy Ramone passed away Friday the 11th at his home in New York. It’s strange to think that all the original Ramones are now playing at the CBGBs in the sky. I decided to pull together some punk postcards and others in their honor.

IMG_8035New York City, 1980. Photograph by Danny Lyon.

Sitting here in Queens,
Eating refried beans,
We’re in all the magazines
Gulping down Thorazines.
— “We’re a Happy Family” The Ramones

Like the Ramones, Danny Lyon (b. 1942) grew up in Queens. Lyon got his start photographing the American Civil Rights Movement as part of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee. Also in the 1960′s, Lyon captured his most famous images of Midwest biker culture from his days with the Chicago Outlaws motorcycle club. He would continue to take on the tough, seedy and socially ignored, from prisoners’ portraits to scenes of the inner-city.  IMG_8036

From the series The Streets of Downtown, L.A. In Pictures by Alveraz Ricardez. Ricardez gives a nod to Downtown shutterbug king Gary Leonard, by shooting in front of the Take My Picture, Gary Leonard! gallery.  Leonard started out as the photographer of the LA punk scene. 

“I’ve thought about this; there’s something in just doing a thing consistently for a long time that contributes to your community….When I can, there’s also humor,”
Gary Leonard in an LA Times interview with Patt Morrison

IMG_803719th century founder of collectivist anarchism Mikhail Bakunin gets his punk on!

I am the antichrist.
I am an anarchist.
Don’t know what I want,
But I know how to get it.
I want to destroy!
— “
Anarchy in the U.K.” The Sex Pistols

IMG_8038Full thrust on the machine
Pins onto my skin
I’m getting my soul reapplied
While my skin is getting dyed
“Baby Lou Tattoo” Horrorpops

IMG_8039

Little boy, she’s from the street
Before you start, you’re already beat
She’s gonna play you for a fool, yes it’s true
‘Cause everybody knows she’s a femme fatale

Femme Fatale” The Velvet UndergroundIMG_8040

“That was her edge. Her secret weapon. She didn’t give a shit.”
Paint it Black Janet FitchIMG_8041Ooh, don’t you try
To push me around
Don’t push me around!
–“Don’t Push Me Around” The Zeroes

IMG_8042reverse side:IMG_8043So we reply:
I know that my life make you nervous,
But I tell you that I can’t live in service
Like the doctor who was born for a purpose
Rudie can’t fail

— “Rudie Can’t Fail” The Clash
IMG_8046Illustrated by Ben Snakepit

Hey! Ho! Let’s Go!

This entry was published on July 13, 2014 at 1:30 pm. It’s filed under Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

