Snail's Postcard Post

Beignets and Books

Look what my friend Alex sent!
IMG_7631IMG_7632“I hope this finds you well! My mom and I are in New Orleans! Had to send you a post-card for the Snail collection! Today we went on a city tour and saw the Garden District and the St. Louis Cemetery #3! I Gotta re-write my short story now! This city is so [paper torn] and inspiring. I’ll call you when I get home!” 

IMG_7633

 

I saw Alex the other day to hear all about her trip, and she surprised me with another postcard! (which I put on display at our cafe table, then left without. When I went back to retrieve it, I felt rather silly interrupting the couple who sat there next to take away what they thought was their table decor.)  IMG_76342006 oil painting by Joan Griswold of Faulkner House Books.

This fine bookstore (which I’ve also had the pleasure of visiting) is located on the ground floor of an 1840 house in the French Quarter’s Pirate’s Alley. In 1925, when he was 27 years-old, William Faulkner rented rooms on the same ground floor of what was then a boarding house. There he wrote many reflections on New Orleans, and also his first novel, Soldiers’ Pay.

Faulkner House Books is very supportive of current regional authors, offering new gems on Louisiana history, Creole culture and many a cookbook. And of course it’s the place to go for works by and about Faulkner and other authors such as Tennessee Williams, Anne Rice, Ernest Hemingway, and Eudora Welty who were deeply influenced by the Big Easy and visa-versa. 

 

This entry was published on April 4, 2014 at 7:22 pm. It’s filed under U.S.A. and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

