Snail's Postcard Post

Be My Valentine

As you can imagine, I’m a believer in valentines. Like sending a postcard, mailing or giving someone a valentine is a simple way of spreading the love. So I thought I’d venture off the postcard path a bit to share some valentines I’ve given and received over the years. (To stay on the postcard path, check out last year’s Valentine’s Day post.)

Snail elementary school celebrated Valentine’s Day with gusto. Everyone made valentines for the whole class, including the teachers. 

This one’s from my main teacher: IMG_7436It’s a pocket of sorts that was filled with goodies.IMG_7437In third grade, I believe, when we were mastering addition and subtraction, our teacher organized a valentine store. It was such a fun week. Basically, we had to “purchase” supplies to make valentines for our families. There was a paper booth, a doily booth, a lace and ribbon booth, and we took turns buying and selling with a generous budget of play money. 

IMG_7440

This one’s from the assistant to my first or second grade class. She was not popular, but I softened toward her when I found she’d made watercolor valentines personalized for each student, and read the thoughtful words on mine.

The next one’s from our fourth or fifth grade teaching assistant, who I liked off the bat.  She was an artist, and I think the design is some sort of print. IMG_7441As for my classmates’ valentines, there were hearts galore:IMG_7442In the valentine with the dried flowers, the heart is translucent, meant to be placed in front of a candle or night light. The girl who made it was from a very homespun New England family. I didn’t quite understand this at the time. I saw how her mom was quite the crafter–knitting, weaving baskets and such–but when she’d refer to something “back East,” I always imagined India. 

You can tell we were ’90s kids by the spin art heart! 

And remember blow pens?IMG_7466On the back:IMG_7467

Some adults dread Valentine’s Day, not out of loneliness or in protest of sentimentality, but because it’s when their kids break out the glitter:IMG_7443And don’t forget the doilies!IMG_7444

Looking through my early valentines, many of my favorites have an invented character and/or 3D element:IMG_7445This one’s a magnet.IMG_7446And this one’s a necklace with a modeling clay heart pendant. IMG_7447IMG_7448The boy who made this (originally with both mouse eyes intact) was quite the cartoonist. While most of the boys played football, he and a few friends would spend recess developing animal characters and their worlds. His parents were set designers, and I hear he’s now an actor.

IMG_7449As for this mouse, the loop in its tail held a lollipop. The girl who made it had pet mice. She said her mom once smuggled the mice in her bra so she could bring them on a plane trip!IMG_7450The boy who founded Love Airlines here was quite the inventor. In first or second grade, when our teacher expressed the need for a pointer to indicate things on the chalkboard, this boy made our teacher a wand with a silver star and streamers. IMG_7451From my friend Alex, when we were in fourth grade. (Check out postcards from Alex here.) 

Here are my own early valentines:IMG_7452I still make valentines, of course, but I no longer keep one for myself. Maybe I should.IMG_7453Alex’s heart with the straw arrow inspired fifth grade’s doily butterfly.IMG_7454

Grandma Snail was big on stationary. When I was ten or so, she took me to a stationary shop to pick out writing paper and envelopes of my own. The selection was too old fashioned for me, so when I came across this red snakeskin pattern, that was the one. Grandma Snail bought me such a large stack of it, that about two years later, I was still drowning in it. In sixth grade, I decided to use it to make valentines.

Seventh grade finally saw the last of the red snakeskin–the valentine in the above photo with the playing card.

As suggested by my “All You Need is Love” valentine, I went through several years of ’60s fandom. Mama Snail gave me two groovy valentines in suit:IMG_7455Otherwise, Mama Snail has made her own valentines:IMG_7456IMG_7457IMG_7458IMG_7459IMG_7470

And Look what Mama Snail made for me this year:IMG_7462

As well as decoupage, Mama Snail likes word puzzles. Here’s one she made for me when I was very young:IMG_7464“I Love You Kid” !

Speaking of valentines in code:IMG_7465A girl stamped “Happy Valentine’s Day” in hieroglyphics on the tag of her third grade valentine goody bags, as we were studying Ancient Egypt. 

And speaking of academia, here’s a valentine from my college friend, Anneliese:IMG_7469

In snail college, in the week leading up to Valentine’s Day, Anneliese and I combined our craft supplies for some delightful evenings making valentines.

I hope you had some such homemade fun, or found other ways to let those you love know it.

Let me know too! If you dig Snail’s Postcard Post, send me a postcard! If you include your return address, I’ll send you one back.

My human assistant’s address is:

Allison Strauss
3370 Glendale Blvd. Box 613
Los Angeles, CA 90039
U.S.A.

Won’t you be my valentine?

 

This entry was published on February 14, 2014 at 8:55 pm. It’s filed under Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Be My Valentine

  1. Pingback: Happy Valentine’s Day! | Snail's Postcard Post

Leave a Reply

