Snail's Postcard Post

Hittin’ the Books

I was browsing the “L.A. Bizarro” guide by Anthony Lovett and Matt Maranian IMG_5115 when I learned of “Adventure in Postcards” IMG_5112 I want to go!

IMG_5113

IMG_5114

Soon after this discovery, I came across some mail art in “The Map as Art”
IMG_5126edited by Katharine Harmon.

IMG_5116

IMG_5122

IMG_5117

IMG_5118

IMG_5119

IMG_5120

IMG_5121

IMG_5123

IMG_5124

IMG_5125

The next obvious step in my postal publication perusing was to reread the Griffin & Sabine trilogy by Nick Bantock.
IMG_5145

These were the postcards and envelopes that I enjoyed most:

IMG_5132

IMG_5133

IMG_5134

IMG_5135

IMG_5136

IMG_5137

IMG_5138

IMG_5139

IMG_5140

IMG_5141

IMG_5142

IMG_5143

IMG_5144

“Griffin & Sabine” is as emo as I can appreciate, so it took a good deal of will power for me to then revisit the other obvious book of postcards, the first anthology of PostSecret, “PostSecret: Extraordinary Confessions from Ordinary Lives” edited by Frank Warren.
IMG_5131

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m like Mr. Jellineck in “Strangers With Candy,” ignoring the plight of his high school students sending their anonymous personal problems to him for the school paper advice column. “I like happy problems. Listen to this one I just made up: Dear Geoffrey,
I recently acquired an antique Shaker table which is really fun in a rustic kind of way but it doesn’t fit in with my Key West colors. What should I do?
Signed Desperately Seeking Deco

 “Those student problems are so…morose.” Here are the PostSecret postcards that I liked:
IMG_5127

IMG_5128

IMG_5129

A friend of mine who’s a barrista does the same, and she gives caffeinated to rude customers who order decaf. I have a hunch that it’s common in the food service industry. One more reason to respect those who serve you for minimum wage, and don’t forget to tip!

IMG_5130

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was published on February 22, 2013 at 1:34 pm. It’s filed under Art, Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Hittin’ the Books

  1. Antonette DeVito on said:

    A

  2. Antonette DeVito on said:

    Let’s begin again.
    Allison, This is a fabulous post! I love maps, too. –I sent you an email recently, not sure if you got it. I want to hire you to help create a blog for me. Call me! Email me! Toni

Leave a Reply

