Snail's Postcard Post

The Final Finds

If you’ve been following along this week, you know I’ve found so many delightful old postcards while helping Grandma Snail pack for her move. (See previous three posts.) Here’s the last bunch I discovered.

IMG_4842

IMG_4843

Postmark: Boston, Mass. Jun. 2, 1911
Address: Russia (modern-day Poland)
Wielmozny (title similar to “Esquire” or “the illustrious”) L. Fyks
Warssawa (Warsaw)
Ul. (short for Ulica, meaning “street”) Nowolipie 56/42
The letter is in Yiddish. If you can read it, please comment!

Grandma Snail’s later-life step-father was a Jewish man from Boston whose family was originally from Old Russia. This portrait postcard must have belonged to him, perhaps a picture of his father. 

IMG_4844

“Chow Line”

IMG_4848 IMG_4846

“Free” written in place of stamp
Postmark U.S. Navy April 11, 1944
Return address Farragut, Idaho

“…Today my official name is Murray Weissman, A.S. (apprentice seaman). In 5 weeks I’ll be home + they’ll then add another “s” to my name. Please write. Murray” 

 

Grandma Snail had two fellas in the armed forces who wrote to her during WWII. She was married for a year after the war to a man she can’t remember a single thing about, not even his name. Mama Snail and I suspect it was one of the two soldiers. Here’s the other guy,  the more expressive Jay:

IMG_4849

 

“Lago di Como, Campo e Isola Comacina” (This field at Lake Como in Italy looks out to Comacina Island) 

IMG_4851 IMG_4850

July 27, 194?
…Como is beyond a doubt one of the few devine [sic.] spots on the face of God[‘]s not-so-hot green earth. I wish you were here at the Villa d’Este. Everthing is perfect, even the cuisine is superlative. The vín du [sic.] pays so good rather stronger than the blanc of the Isêre but good–Love Jay”

 Then along came Grandpa Snail…
IMG_4852

 

IMG_4854

IMG_4853

Grandpa Snail worked in Hawaii in the ’50s and ’60s, sometimes joined by Grandma Snail. One of them brought back this postcard of a stunning banyan tree.
IMG_4856

IMG_4857IMG_4858
Here’s a piece of local history for ya: In the ’60s and ’70s, a stunt driver made a name for himself (Wild Bill Shrewsberry) by driving L.A. Darts, a series of souped up Dodges and Plymouths provided by Los Angeles and Orange County dealerships. With a powerful engine and the weight shifted to the back of the car, Wild Bill’s big trick was to pop a wheelie for a quarter-mile at over 100 mph!   

IMG_4859

IMG_4860

IMG_4862

And finally, coming up to the present-day, a postcard (referring to myself) from Mama Snail to Grandma Snail.

IMG_4861

 

 

 

 

This entry was published on January 14, 2013 at 12:08 am. It’s filed under Historical, This Just In!, U.S.A. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “The Final Finds

  1. Antonette DeVito on said:

    Allison, I have enjoyed your recent finds and the story they tell. Happy New Year’s! Toni

  2. Ronnie Stein on said:

    Your grandma’s step-father was my dad’s brother.The Russian man on the postcard is my grandfather. My dad was 99 years old yesterday. I showed him the picture and he was happy to see it. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Ronnie Stein on said:

    Hi Allison,

    Yes, my dad is Leo. And yes, it was amazing when I stumbled across the postcard with my grandfather’s picture on it. I couldn’t believe my eyes!

    Unfortunately, it has been many years since my dad read Yiddish. Also, his eyesight is not what it used to be. I am hoping to find someone through a synagogue who might be able to read the postcard for me. If I do, I’ll let you know what it says.

    Best regards, Ronnie

  4. Ronnie Stein on said:

    Hi Allison,

    I emailed my rabbi the front and back of the postcard. It was hard for him to read. He requested a photo and I am sending him photos that were enlarged. Hopefully, this will help him. I’ll let you know what happens.

    Warm regards,

    Ronnie

  5. Pingback: The Translation | Snail's Postcard Post

Leave a Reply

